HCDE Honors 5 Area Media Representatives with Media Honor Roll 2019 Awards

Leave a comment

October 28, 2019 by HCDE-Texas

Harris County Department of Education named five media representatives to the 2019 Media Honor Roll for 2019.   Representatives being honored this year by HCDE are Rose-Ann Aragon, KPRC 2; Kaitlin Monte, KRIV 26; Gilbert Hoffman, North Channel Star, Highlands Star and Crosby Courier (Grafikpress Corporation); Juan Beltran, KTRK 13; and Chris McDonald, formerly with KIAH 39.

The Media Honor Roll, sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards, honors media representatives statewide who deserve recognition for fair, accurate and balanced reporting of news about public schools. Plaques and a media release provide recognition.

Each year HCDE selects local media representatives for recognition of their outstanding contributions to education.  Criteria for HCDE’s selection process include the media representative’s efforts to report school news in a fair, accurate and balanced manner and give a high profile to positive news about education.

Multimedia journalist and education reporter Aragon is honored for a feature story she reported on regarding a car giveaway to a needy Head Start mother. Fox co-anchor Monte served as emcee for a ceremony recognizing afterschool providers for the Center for Afterschool, Summer and Enrichment for Kids, or Case for Kids. Publisher Hoffman is celebrated for his continued support in publishing information about HCDE education events which benefit the community. Multimedia journalist Beltran shared a story about teens recovering from addiction who attend the county’s first public recovery high school called Fortis Academy. Videographer/reporter McDonald provided coverage of a fine arts summer program which helps disadvantaged children.

“We believe it’s important to single out individuals who deserve recognition for their outstanding contributions to education and celebrate them,” said HCDE Superintendent James Colbert Jr.  “We are grateful for these talented professionals.”

This year’s honorees appear on the Texas Association of School Board’s website at www.tasb.org as more than 300 representatives from Texas newspapers, radio and television stations and online publications representatives are honored statewide.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to Our Blog

Enter your email address to follow our news blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Contact Us

Have a question or suggestion for our news team? Email us! communications@hcde-texas.org
%d bloggers like this: