HCDE Names Educator of Year Finalists

Leave a comment

May 13, 2019 by HCDE-Texas

Finalists for “Teacher of the Year” as well as “Educational Aide of the Year” have been named at Harris County Department of Education’s four Special Schools. The two honorees will be named on May 13 from 6-7 p.m. at HCDE, 6300 Irvington Blvd.

The four HCDE schools provide three specialized education programs and feature individualized learning and small-group instruction in highly structured classes. Programs are for students with intellectual, developmental or behavioral disorders; troubled or adjudicated youth; and recovering youth.


“We’re very proud of all our educators who work extremely hard with our special populations students,” HCDE Superintendent James Colbert said. “We celebrate all their successes, and this event gives us pause to think about all they accomplish on behalf of the children of greater Harris County.”

 Educator nominations:

Kenneth Davis, nominee from Academic and Behavior School East
Jeffrey Sam, nominee from Academic and Behavior School West
Zachary Wikstrom, nominee from Fortis Academy
Ashley Johnson, nominee from Highpoint School

Educational aide nominations:

Alejandra Garza, nominee from Academic and Behavior School West

Byron Clay, nominee from Academic and Behavior School East


Leave a Reply

Subscribe to Our Blog

Enter your email address to follow our news blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Contact Us

Have a question or suggestion for our news team? Email us! communications@hcde-texas.org
%d bloggers like this: